A No-Wheat Treat
A cheese plate is a saving grace to those who are gluten free—until you get to the crackers. But these crisp accompaniments that have been traditionally wheat based are now available in many gluten-free renditions. Drawing on a variety of ingredients, gluten-free crackers can incorporate legumes, different flours, nuts, and even dried fruit. The choices are exciting and tasty—and possibly even more cheese friendly than their wheat-based counterparts.
Once you understand the basics about how wheat-free flours taste and behave, it’s easy to make your own gluten-free crackers. After some experimenting, these almond-and-chickpea-based cracker thins, with a hint of rosemary and pepper, hit the mark: deeply flavorful and snappy, without being tough, they also taste terrific with a range of cheeses, from a creamy fresh chèvre to a mild cheddar and a bold blue. Even if you’re not going gluten-free, these are lovable crackers.Written by Emily Gold
Photography by Vanessa Rees