It’s well known that kosher cheese cannot be made with animal rennet, in deference to the age-old Jewish prohibition of mixing milk and meat. But Adeline’s colleague, Andrew Schmitt, quality control supervisor at the creamery, shared some of the finer points of getting certified: “For a product to be considered kosher, all the ingredients, methods of preparation, cleaning practices/chemical usage, order of production, new/used equipment purchases, other products in your facility, and even the temperatures used to make non-kosher products in the same kettle/vat have to meet inspection.”
Andrew explained that cheesemakers can have non-kosher ingredients in their facility, but all kosher products must be stored above non-kosher ones and cannot come into contact with any non-kosher product or ingredient. The kosher certification body maintains a master list of all the ingredients used at Vermont Creamery, kosher or not, and no additional ingredients can enter the creamery unless they’re preapproved. When the rabbi comes in for the monthly inspection, he or she looks for unapproved ingredients and processing or cleaning methods that don’t follow kosher rules. Should that happen, the rabbi can force a total recall of that product or have it destroyed.
“One common misnomer,” Andrew adds, “is that the rabbi will ‘bless’ the product. They do not bless any of our products; they just make sure that we’re following kosher processing guidelines properly.” As I noted, the kosher artisan options are few, but they are great. In addition to Vermont Creamery, you can buy kosher cheese from Point Reyes Farmstead Cheese Company (Calif.), Redwood Hill Farm (Calif.), and 5 Spoke Creamery (N.Y.).
Feature Photo Credit: Shutterstock